Skip to content

I Prayed to God

August 21, 2012

I prayed to God the other night for my wife Anna. As I prayed I placed my hand on her ankle right above a nasty spider bite. I asked God, “Please heal this spider bite. I realize you don’t have to have much faith, just the amount of a mustard seed God, I have that much I’m sure. Please heal her. Lord she is not lame nor blind, just has a nasty bug bite. Please heal her for you have said, “Ask and you shall receive”. I’m asking God.

It has been several days now and the spider bite has not healed.  Actually it got worse.  We had consulted with a doctor earlier, prior to my prayer and the spider bite is doing what spider bites do.  In time after the poison destroys more skin and tissue the natural healing will begin.  We know, for Anna had a spider bite last year and it took nearly 3 months to heal.  I prayed asking God not to let her suffer and just heal the doggone bite.  When God does not answer prayer as is most the cases I can think of it makes one doubt the bible.  The bible said ask and you shall receive.  If that passage is wrong then other passages can be wrong as well as far as I’m concerned.

I’m disappointed with the bible.  The old testament is so harsh, cruel, demanding, sadistic, and basically replaced by the new testament.  The new testament has things such as “Ask and it shall be given” written in it.  Jesus goes around healing all sorts of people and bring them back from the dead.  We are to understand all these angels throughout the bible, the miracles, and healing were just signs for their time and not ours.  On the contrary greater is our blessings supposedly if we accept without having any signs whatsoever.  We are blessed when God does not answer by essence.  Always when prayers are not answered we rationalize about the bigger picture.  People claim there are so many different versions of the bible causing all the confusion.  Only if we truly understood then things would be so great.   Seems God could send another messenger and revise the writings so we could all understand and maybe toss in a few miracles as well.  Or at least heal a stupid little spider bite.

I’m so tempted to box up all my bibles and study guides into a box and store them away.  I feel like deleting all the apps from my Iphone dealing with religious studies and the bible.  Doesn’t matter if man has made so many versions of the bible, he was just trying to figure out what the heck is going on.  Maybe if God would actually back you up in your belief it would be easier to believe.  If after praying for Anna her bite would have been healed up like the next day, I would have felt like WOW… and want to dig deeper and try harder.  Right now I feel very disappointed.

I remember nearly 4 decades ago my father breaking all his eye glasses with a hammer for he was sure God would cure his eyesight.  Dad had to get new glasses of which he could not afford.  I wonder if he told the eye doctor how his other glasses were destroyed.  If God loves us so much why doesn’t he answer prayer?  You know I’m thinking He doesn’t answer prayer, never has.  This part about answering prayer are just mans words imposed into the bible.  Maybe the bible is not correct and in fact carries lots of mis-guidance.

I so want to put all these books away, but at the same time feel at loss to do so.  To empty my desk of all these studies would make me feel so empty.  I believe there is truth to be found, it is just where do you go to find it?

It should be simple.  Ask and there it is.  This would restore faith and help us in building faith.  Many folks would turn to God in a heart beat if only He would answer their prayers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2012 10:47 pm

    Hello brother. That was a very heart felt article. Thank you for sharing your doubts. I would encourage you not to give up. I have had similar feelings. Remember Andrew Wommack for one, encourages us to talk to the mountain about God, and not continue to talk to God about the mountain. We have the believers authority. Command the spider bite to be healed in the name of Jesus. I am still working on this, but I have seen many more results. God Bless You!

    • August 21, 2012 11:00 pm

      Will give that command tonight. Will post later to let you know how it goes. Thanks for the comment.

      • August 22, 2012 8:32 pm

        I gave it my best shot last night. I and Anna prayed saying to the spider bite, “In the name of Jesus we ask this nasty bite to be healed”. This morning we took a look see and it was no better. It has now been nearly 24 hours and the bite is no better or worse than it was this time last night.

        So I get to thinking it shouldn’t matter how I pray or what format I use to petition God. It is also written He knows what we need before we even ask. Oh well, God has decided not to heal her so we have to go into secondary mode and consider the big picture. The bible sure calls for us to have a lot of understanding and faith into the unknown. We are keeping an eye on this bite and if it turns really bad we will return to the doctor. Some will say the doctor is God’s answer, I say rubbish. Many people would turn more to God if He did things like heal spider bites, remove stress from the job, mend a broken heart, make your car work when it breaks down on the freeway late at night, and a thousand other such prayers which are never answered. Appears the bible is a one way street for the believer. Do or roast your choice, so says your Loving Father.

        All I know is if I were God and one of my children were hurting I would do all in my power to relieve the hurt. Instead of constantly punishing and correcting for bad behavior, I would reward for good behavior. If I were God I would destroy Satan and not allow him to torment and tempt my children. I am becoming more and more convinced the bible is mis-leading.

        • August 23, 2012 7:16 pm

          Disregard my last reply and read my next post. Great News!!!

Leave a Reply

