Skip to content

Dad’s Books ~ I’ve Found Them!!!

December 21, 2011

Hello Fran,

I found not one, but two books written by dad in what we call our store room. One book is called “The Ultimate Plan” and the other “A Bony Needle-Pointed Finger”. These are hard copies, typed. Also I found a letter to dad’s sister, Dorothy, from dad, of 2 May 1980 explaining the book “The Ultimate Plan”. When Dorothy died in the house you are now living, Anna and I acquired all her books. I suppose dad’s books were among them. There is no way you could know how happy I am to of made this discovery. However, I believe I was led to the books by dad.

Remember a while back I told you I had a dream about dad where the two of us had a conversation? Anyways in the dream I had asked dad what religion on earth comes closest to the truth to the way it really it is. I was expecting Baptist, Protestant, Catholic, or something to this nature but dad said something like the religion of “Delmaze” or at least something which sounds like this. A religion from a far away land. I never gave up on my search for this religion. I’ve asked nuns, preachers, and general pretty good educated folks have they ever heard of this type of religion. No luck anywhere. Until today. Anna never quit qoogling and eventually came up with what I truly believe is what dad was talking about. A religion called, Daimones way back 700BC in the Greek times. From what I’ve read of dad’s works, his beliefs, and all this really hit home.

Here is the jest of Daimones:

The Golden Age was a mythical first period of man when everything was happy and easy, and mortals lived like gods, although they died, but only as if falling asleep. No one worked or grew unhappy. Spring never ended. It is even described as a period in which people aged backwards. When they died, they became daimones and roamed the earth. The people of the Golden Age were formed by or for the Titan Cronus, whom the Romans called Saturn. When Zeus overcame the Titans, the Golden Age ended.

(ll. 109-120) First of all the deathless gods who dwell on Olympus made a golden race of mortal men who lived in the time of Cronos when he was reigning in heaven. And they lived like gods without sorrow of heart, remote and free from toil and grief: miserable age rested not on them; but with legs and arms never failing they made merry with feasting beyond the reach of all evils. When they died, it was as though they were overcome with sleep, and they had all good things; for the fruitful earth unforced bare them fruit abundantly and without stint. They dwelt in ease and peace upon their lands with many good things, rich in flocks and loved by the blessed gods.
(ll. 121-139) But after earth had covered this generation — they are called pure spirits dwelling on the earth, and are kindly, delivering from harm, and guardians of mortal men; for they roam everywhere over the earth, clothed in mist and keep watch on judgements and cruel deeds, givers of wealth; for this royal right also they received….
Hesiod Works and Days

Ok so this rings a bell with me because years ago, for some strange reason I was really engulfed in Greek Mythology, couldn’t get enough of the stuff. Anyways I collected many books on the matter and this evening I went into the store room to look for a book by Hesiod, the writer of The Golden Age you just read and it was found resting beside dad’s books. Is that a coincidence or a plan by dad for me to find his books?

I’m going to figure out how to make a Kindle book so I can publish dad’s works and put on the blog for all to read for all the years to come. I am so excited, never have I been this excited, never.

Stay with me sis and help me over the years as we continue dad’s mission. There is a reason I’ve been so drawn to you and I bet it is dad. I’ve yet to touch dad’s floppy discs, still waiting on my reader to come in. In any case I’ve years of materials to work with. No telling what all will be discovered, uncovered, and recovered.

Will close for now, oh here is an excerpt from out of dad’s writings:

Written prior to 1980:
“The basic reason for humanity is for God to reproduce Himself in spirit. To do this He started at the very lowest level of the life chain letting it evolve to the highest level, at each level mistakes and errors were discovered, and omitted in the next levels. The body had to develop to where it would accept the spiritual soul. Then the mind had to slowly go through all the levels of development to the point where it is God Himself.” from “The Ultimate Plan”

“I feel that God has appointed me as that watchman, possibly not over the House of Israel, but over those whom I am in contact with, and to these I must give the warning that was given to me by God. Should I not do this, and do it to the best of my ability, then I shall be held accountable for my actions. Therefore, I have used the best I have, and am able to come into contact with, in order to put this warning together. A BONY, NEEDLE-POINTED FINGER is a picture of my life, not an autobiography, but a testimony of my faith toward God, world, country, family and self.”

Written Oct 6, 2010: As I Walk Through This Life

At the foot of my grave you stand, gazing down with wonder at where
in the dust I lie. At one time in the your spot I once stood,
And someday, who can know, in the cold earth where I now am
You too, shall also rest and to your surprise it will seem extremely good.

by Frank J. Surface

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    December 22, 2011 12:37 am

    I’m super glad you found them Preston and yes, I believe it was Dad leading you to the book just as he lead us to what we were looking for that day. I sure do miss him so very much Preston. He was a awesome dude. And I love that quote down at the bottom. The “At the foot of my grave…” Did Dad write that or did you find that somewhere?

  2. December 22, 2011 6:59 am

    Fran those are dad’s words. It was a part of a poem he wrote Oct 6, 2010 called As I Walk Through This LIfe. You can read the entire poem by clicking on the title right above the quote.

    Did you realize dad’s first post on this blog was Oct 5, 2009 and his last post was
    Oct 4, 2011 the day he died. He died exactly 2 years from his first post. I suspect to discover all sorts of things while working with all these files of dads.

Leave a Reply

