Skip to content

Sheep Which Are Not Of This Fold

October 26, 2011

So I’m trying to catch up with my daily meditation book which has me reading the bible in one year, and I come across the “He Guards Me Well” devotional for the day of Oct 23, a Sunday. This leads up to the 23rd Psalm and the reading of John 10:7-15, however I read verse 16 as well.

Now John 10:16 reads coming from my dad’s KJV, And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold… Right off I get to thinking, “What other fold is this passage referring to?” so I start my research.

My first google search brings me to where this is the verse which supports the church of Mormon, they being the other fold. Another search supports the Gentiles being the other fold. First off, I never really understood what a Gentile was or is. Are there still Gentiles amongst us, I’ve never heard anyone lately being called a Gentile?

Another search indicated the other or lost tribes of Israel. However they go into a lot of explaining to support this theory. Then the Jews are looked at as being not of the fold. Someday the Jews and the Gentiles (I guess Gentiles must mean those whom are not Jewish) shall be of the same fold. Next I checked out some YouTubes about this other fold and Jews, Gentiles, and Mormons were once again discussed. Then some really weird stuff about individuals, groups, and etc. claiming to be of the other fold. Then someone by the user-name “TeeM” gave the following post,

Just as Jesus is NOT a physical door, but a spiritual door, just as Jesus is not a physical shepherd, but a spiritual shepherd, just as Jesus’ disciples are not physical sheep but are spiritual sheep. The sheep fold is not physical Israel, but is spiritual Israel.

, which I found real interesting.

No longer Jew or Gentile, but one flock. (But what of the Islams, Muslims, and Buddhists, unless Gentiles are all other religions other than Jewish.)

Here is a title I found while searching for this other fold:

Will The Real “Other Sheep” Please Stand-up!

There is also an Asian church, INC, thought of as being the other fold. Wikipedia described the INC as believing the following:

The Iglesia ni Cristo believes that God the Father is the only true God. The church believes that God is omnipotent, and that He created all, including Jesus Christ, the Son. Meanwhile, the Holy Spirit is the power sent by God in the name of Jesus. The Holy Spirit is in the INC ministers giving them the exclusive ability to interpret the Bible correctly.[37] Thus, the INC rejects the trinity as a heresy.[2][20] They believe that this position is attested by Jesus Christ and the Apostles.

After about 10 google pages on this subject of different sheep, I decided to give it a rest.  Still leaves me thinking of what a Gentile is… Are Christians, Islams, Muslims, Jehovah Witnesses, Mormons, and etc. all Gentiles (Non-Jewish).  The Webster dictionary describes Gentiles as Non-Jewish, Heathen, Pagan, and a non-Mormon.  Appears Gentile is pretty much open to interpretation.   Here’s hoping Gentile is the group which is referred to as the other fold and this will encompass all whom are not Jewish since the Jews are already in good graces.  Seems to me only right all living folks are creations of the Almighty, the Loving Father, and will sooner or later find themselves in their Fathers loving arms.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Josephine Koontz permalink
    October 26, 2011 4:29 pm

    This is very good food for thought. Always wondered who the Gentiles really were. I always thought they were not Jewish. I would think the other fold would be anyone not Jewish. Your research really helps put another view on things. I know the Bible emphasizes the 3 in one trinity, which I wholely believe in. In God’s word it says “Anything is possible with God”. That takes in a world of things. Thanks.

    Josephine

  2. October 26, 2011 9:57 pm

    Thanks Josephine for the nice comment. I’ve never read the bible all the way through and I hardly know anything at all about God. I guess by carrying on my dads blog I will discover lots of things. I’m really not sure what I believe however I do have hope of things to be. Whereas dad had a true belief and strong convictions, I lack in both. How can an apprentice carry on a masters work without the master to lead and to guide?

Leave a Reply

