Skip to content

God The Sun

October 21, 2011

Recently a woman gave me a devotional called “Our Daily Bread.”  I’ve been thumbing through it and have actually started reading it daily.  I like the little book and have sent in my name so they will mail the devotionals to me at home.  The devotional has a section where it directs you into reading the bible in a year and I thought, what the heck.  I’ll give it a shot.

Well it had me reading in the 60th chapter of Isaiah and this rung a bell.  Long time ago I knew an old man who claimed the sun was God.  He would have his favorite chair positioned where the suns rays would hit it.  Whenever the old man wanted anything blessed like a book, a letter, a piece of cloth, or whatever he would place them on the chair so the ray of the sun (God) would shine over them.

The first few verses of the bible I’m reading in the 60th chapter of Isaiah reads as so:

“Get out of bed, Jerusalem!  Wake up. Put your face in the sunlight.  God’s bright glory has risen for you.  The whole earth is wrapped in darkness, all people sunk in deep darkness, But God rises on you, his sunrise glory breaks over you…   (You get the idea.)

Well, I’m not going to argue with the old man because I’ve never met God myself so I really don’t know who or what God really is.  You know I’ve never really had anything blessed before neither, might not hurt to give it a try.  Where’s that little doggie of mine?  Here Moppet, come sit in this chair. Now let me open these curtains just so…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

