Skip to content

Subjects For Meditation

October 13, 2011

My verse for this topic is Philippians 4:8

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

Yesterday I was on a Truth/Honest thought wave. How many times have you really thought something which reasoned well with you, but had to be wrong?  For example:  There is a fellow which is bad to the bone.  He drinks, smokes, does drugs, takes advantage of the women, steals from the local stores, has been in and out of jail, is not afraid of the local authorities for they have no hold on him for he has a family which is rich and powerful.  If you cross his path he will have to hurt you or break something of yours.  He is vindictive and vile.  However you realize there is actually a quick fix for someone like this.  All that is really needed is for a huge hulking police officer, willing to cross the line, and take the fellow behind a building and beat the you know what out of him.  This officer could teach this fellow to say Yes Sir and No Sir.  Ten minutes behind a building and this brute could be reformed.  In theory this sounds really good.

So in searching for truth and honesty I came up with the verse in Philippians.  However I did not write about it.  I let the day go and left my page blank.  Then today I thought more about this.  How does one think about good things without letting the bad creep in?  I tried, I honestly tried this entire day to think of good, to meditate about things which are pure and honest.  Still things would happen causing me to take issue making me lose track of my thinking of good things.  You know it is not easy for me to think of only good.

Not to say today was not successful.  Several times today while at work, reading my papers, watching television with my wife, and with my daughter dropping by for a visit things went really well.  Not bad considering I just buried my father a few days ago.  So bad things happen, but if we train ourselves we can move forward and learn.

I do believe my effort of looking for the good, pure, honest, and lovely actually paid off for I am quite content. Many times I would be moody, angry, upset, sad, or whatever.  I had worked with my hobbies, spent time with my family, and only contributed light and pleasant conversation at work.  What do other people do in their efforts of finding happiness, beauty, and so forth?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

