Skip to content

Daughter of Bethuel

September 27, 2011

Six word stories as can be seen at this blog Six Word Stories, is what inspired me for this post. I don’t know the author of the story, “For Sale, Baby Shoes Never Worn”, but you have to admit the six words draw a story to ones mind. My wife introduced me to the concept of the Six Word Story over our afternoon lunch during a commercial break from our addictive soap opera, The Young and the Restless. I’ve worked the split shift for going on 14 years now and while home for lunch I’ve learned all there is to know about this soap. Anyways…

Since the Six Word Story was on my mind for a few days I decided to look up the word, “Word or Words” in the On-line concordance which can be found under REFERENCES, on the right side column of this blog. I discovered a story of a man and a woman who would meet under extraordinary circumstances because of predetermined words spoken by the woman Rebekah, Daughter of Bethuel.  So began my search and bible study.

I first researched Rebekah which led to Isaac, then to Abraham and Sarah, then back to Noah and his huge boat, then back to creation. Finally I decided I needed to narrow down the search so I read up on Bethuel.  Bethuel is the father of Rebekah and Laban. I’m in the process of trying to figure out the mother of Rebekah. I don’t think her mother is mentioned. I guess the important thing is Bethuel is the son of Nahor, Abraham’s brother.  Whereas, Isaac is the son of Abraham, Nahor’s brother.  Isaac and Rebekah had two sons Esau and Jacob.  Laban had two daughters, Rachel and Leah.  So the two brothers, Abraham and Nahor’s grandchildren, as can be seen in Abraham’s Family Tree, Jacob and Rachel entered an epic journey which changed the world that was sparked by the six word story, “I’ll draw water for thy camels”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

