Skip to content

Exercise Daily in God

September 13, 2011

A few months ago I had an heart attack. I’m fine and the fix was pretty simple, a little metal stint in my heart. Like any traumatic thing this was a life changer. Did I see light at the end of the tunnel or hear beautiful music and see family and friends long since past gather round me? No… I hurt real bad, then got scared, made it to the hospital, was fixed and then released.

I realized during my recovery the few weeks home from work, which was great by the way, I would have to change my ways to keep from having another heart attack. This meant exercising, eating right, and losing some weight. If I refused to change, my arteries would block up again and then Lord knows what would happen. Cardiac re-hab taught me how to exercise and I have been doing so for several months. I’ve tried many different excercises, repititions, variations, and here for the longest time I’ve narrowed it down to 10 miles on the stationary bike and 200 sit-up using a weight bench to do the sit-ups on. I would pedal for 2 miles and then do 40 sit ups, pedal 2 more miles and 40 more sit ups. I would do this for 3 to 4 times a week. You’d think I would have abs and be looking good, but quite the contrary. At 55 years of age you can only look so good in the first place. I could pedal a hundred miles and do thousands of sit ups and will still have my inner-tube belly for it will just not go away.

Anyways, the last couple of weeks I have not exercised based on two reasons. One being lazy and the other was because I had poison ivy and itched like crazy. This is the start of a third week without exercising and the guilt started really hammering me so I got on my bike and pedaled and also did my sit ups. Actually felt good to get back at it. Of course with the thought of exercise on the forefront of my mind I started looking into the bible about exercise which brings me to todays post.

I found a passage in the first book of Timothy chapter 4 verses 6-10 which had to deal with exercise. What I was looking for was something to verify what a fine thing I was doing by exercising only to find out I’m actually lacking. Sure the verses supported one should exercise and keep the body healthy, but it said more importantly you should Exercise Daily in God. It did not suggest 2 or 3 times a week, but to exercise daily in God. Can’t say I’ve been too good about this sort of thing.

So just how exactly do you exercise in God? In search of this answer I read both of Paul’s letters to Timothy. My understanding is these were instructions for the young priest on how to go about being a priest. So I think to myself, does this just apply to becoming priests or to anyone. Since I’m applying this towards exercise I believe what is good for the goose is good for the gander. So here are some of the exercises I found:

1. Do several reps each day of prayer – pray for all you know and especially for those in the government so they will rule well so we can live quietly and simple.

2. Work at being a good spouse, caring son or daughter, loving brother, sister, or friend.

3. Push yourself to get the message out. You don’t have to speak to get the word out because your life, demeanor, love, and integrity displays the word. However, speaking of the word is very effective.

4. Sidestep from being harsh or impatient with an older man. Treat him like you would your father and the younger men like you would your brother.

5. Extend honor to the older woman and treat the younger ones as you would your sister.

6. With intensity take care of widows and those in need.

7. For high impact, run a life of wonder, faith, love, steadiness, and courtesy. Run hard and fast in the faith.

Wow… that is quite a workout and I am to do it daily, on top of the ten miles on the bike and 200 sit ups.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

