Skip to content

IT IS NO FUN GROWING OLD

June 14, 2010

I am not a perfect person, not by a long shot. I have done things up during my life time that were not all that honorable, not even honest for that matter.

However in these latter years of my life, I have managed to cleanse my mind of evil, of those thoughts that fill the mind of man. In the eyes of God, to think a thing, is the same as doing it, and it holds the same guilt. My friend, it is not fun growing old, watching your body and mind deteriorate, becoming dull, not being able to hear, not being able to see as clearly, in fact, not hardly any sight at all. In fact I find I am beginning to ache and hurt in my joints. Some of my parts are almost inactive altogether.

The other day I sat outside, and took notice of my hands. I got to thinking, they react without complaining, doing exactly what I want them to do, they do not complain when told to do a task, regardless of how distasteful or how degrading. They have been my slaves all of my life, helping me to hold, to use a tool, to wipe a tear, to do the many countless things one does in life.

How wonderful are these two miraculous appendages to my body. They do without a voice of mine, just on a feel in my heart or in my mind. They have changed the diapers on my sons, when they were babies, some fifty something years ago. They touched the brow of my loving mother as she was dying, a woman who so comforted me in my youth.

They, without complaining, or expecting anything in return, helped me all through life, my different fields of work. They did instinctively the many tasks demanded of them during the military, and during the years at the post office. They have held our little daughter that we adopted when she was two, and we were sixty two, now they have held her son, whom I love so dearly.

It is so very sad knowing that some day, and not too far into the future, these two hands will lay down, silently, never to move again, the fingers will never tremble in fear, not in pain, they will lay silently on my chest till all turns back to dust again. All will be so very still, and so very silent, not even remembering all the years they have been so active.
So it goes, my heart is heavy, yet, at the same time, God is there consoling my soul.

MARK 16:
[17] And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues;
[18] They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.
[19] So then after the Lord had spoken unto them, he was received up into heaven, and sat on the right hand of God.

OUR FATHER, WHO ART IN HEAVEN,
HALLOWED BE THY NAME,
THY KINGDOM COME,
THY WILL BE DONE,
ON EARTH AS IT IS IN HEAVEN.
GIVE US THIS DAY OUR DAILY BREAD
AND FORGIVE US OUR TRESPASSES
AS WE FORGIVE THOSE WHO TRESPASS
AGAINST US.
AND LEAD US NOT INTO TEMPTATION
BUT DELIVER US FROM EVIL
AMAN —–

FRANK J. SURFACE
BIRTH 9/23/1931 –TODAY– 06/14/2010

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

